poppet.jpg Duncan asks, if I hated nursing…no my difficulty was with the system, which in my opinion is jammed packed with humanity. The most brilliant people being those that retain enthusiasm and cross over the hierarchies that exist to keep the system functioning. I fondly remember a Nursing Sister who used to do handovers by calling everyone “Poppet” of course we as nurses or doctors or anyone else could not tell who was who.  “Lovely, Poppet in bed 8, shame about the appendix” and that’s how we would register the person with the disease. On one of my shift’s was on the day of the Royal Wedding and she sent me to watch it on TV… because I was such a Poppet Then I had to give her a report on the wedding gown et all.  Maybe it was her way of coping with a very busy often tragic female surgical ward.

