Today in the library I see a book on British poetry and I got frustrated with the title, I am not in Britain although I am British I am here in Vancouver, Canada, I guess I want to read some poetry that is relevant to my situation.  In a connected incident that happened yesterday, I was traveling downtown on the bus with my kids and I noticed that all the advertising on the bus was for a project called “Poetry in Transit,” sadly the driver had the lights turned out so we could not read one poem of the thirty or so offered on that bus ride. That bus ride was eventful so…

Last night my daughter was sick on the 135

She tried to hold back

but spewed out her stomach contents

on the floor of the bus

the driver groaned, the passengers too

everyone had to get off,  she felt awful about that.

there was kindness, someone gave her

tissues.

Poetry in Transit

