I attended a Literacy meeting yesterday and I was struck by how the First Nations or Aboriginal experience is denied here in  BC. Then I began thinking about expression and came to the conclusion that all attempts at inclusion are problematic as I can find no heart here in BC – we are strangely reminiscent of the Tin Man.  Shouldn’t the centre of BC be around the people who lived here first. As mentioned to me earlier today we should all be able to say ‘Hello’ in the language of the country in which we are residing. The image below equates first nation peoples with new immigrants this surely is not representative of the state of literacy for First Nations people or are they seen as foreigners in their own backyard? and who views the orginal people of Canada in this way.

BC Literacy Directory

BC Literacy Directory

The Heart of BC is not the Winter Olympics. Click here for link to BC Literacy Directory

